In achieving its mandate, the Nunavut Marine Council (NMC) will continue to rely upon the close partnerships its individual members have developed with a range of other bodies that have roles and responsibilities in relation to Arctic marine areas. One of the foundations of the Nunavut Land Claims Agreement (NLCA) is the co-management system of resource management, in which Institutions of Public Government (NWMB, NPC, NIRB & NWB), Inuit and Government strive to work cooperatively to conduct and commission research, and to provide information, advice, recommendations and approvals. The development of such partnerships has been crucial to the individual successes of each of the NMC Members during the last two decades and will undoubtedly prove to be essential in the work undertaken by the NMC.
The NMC’s main government partners

Department of Environment, Government of Nunavut (DOE):
Responsible for the protection of Nunavut's environment and the sustainable use of its renewable resources. DOE’s mandate addresses the management of terrestrial mammals, including polar bears, caribou and muskox. It also develops and maintains territorial parks and conservation areas. DOE’s legislative responsibilities include, among other statutes, the Nunavut Wildlife Act.


Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Government of Canada (DFO):
Manages fish and marine mammal stocks, protects their aquatic habitat, and conducts research and gathers information to protect and conserve marine and freshwater environments and their resources.


The Canadian Wildlife Service, Government of Canada (CWS):
Handles wildlife matters falling within federal jurisdiction, including the protection and management of migratory birds, nationally significant habitats and species at risk. CWS also does research in many fields of wildlife biology. In addition, Environment Canada’s Parks Canada Agency oversees Nunavut's national parks - Auyuittuq National Park, Sirmilik National Park and Quttinirpaaq National Park.


Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, Government of Canada (INAC):
Administers mineral rights and land use activities on the more than 80 per cent of the land in Nunavut in which both the subsurface and surface rights are held by the Crown in right of Canada. INAC heads up the Northern Contaminants Program, while also attempting to protect the northern environment and encourage sustainable development.


Transport Canada (TC):
Responsible for the promotion of a safe and secure, efficient and environmentally responsible transportation system in Canada. Safety and security activities include aircraft service, civil aviation, marine safety, marine security, rail safety, road safety, security and emergency preparedness, transportation of dangerous goods, rail and urban transit security.


Canadian Coast Guard (CCG):
Owns and operates the federal government’s civilian fleet, and provides key maritime services to Canadians. The Oceans Act gives the Minister of Fisheries, Oceans and the CCG responsibility for provides aids to navigation, marine communications and traffic management services, icebreaking and ice-management services, channel maintenance, marine search and rescue, marine pollution response, and, support of other government departments, boards and agencies by providing ships, aircraft and other services. The Canada Shipping Act gives the Minister responsibilities and obligations regarding aids to navigation, search and rescue, pollution response, and vessel traffic services.




The NMC’s main Inuit partners

Nunavut Tunngavik Incorporated (NTI):
Represents Inuit under the Nunavut Land Claims Agreement. NTI’s mission is to foster Inuit economic, social and cultural well-being through the implementation of the NLCA.


The three (3) Regional Inuit Associations (RIAS):
Represent Inuit living in Nunavut’s 27 communities. The presidents of NTI and the three RIAs comprise the executive committee of the NTI Board of Directors.

Qikiqtani Inuit Association (
Kivalliq Inuit Association (
Kitikmeot Inuit Association (


The twenty-seven (27) Hunters and Trappers Organizations (HTOs):
Represent the Inuit hunters and trappers in each Nunavut community. In concert with the NWMB and the Regional Wildlife Organizations (RWOs), the HTOs oversee the exercise of harvesting by Inuit under the terms of the NLCA. Information about the HTOs can be accessed online from the Nunavut Inuit Wildlife Secretariat website.


The three (3) Regional Wildlife Organizations (RWOs)
The Qikiqtaaluk Wildlife Board, the Kivalliq Wildlife Board and the Kitikmeot Regional Wildlife Board: Represent the Hunters and Trappers Organizations in each of the three Nunavut regions. The RWOs help to manage harvesting, and to regulate harvesting practices and techniques, among the members of HTOs in the regions. Information about the RWOs can be accessed online from the Nunavut Inuit Wildlife Secretariat website.